If you have been convicted of DUI in Tennessee, one of the penalties is that you can lose your driving privileges for one year. That means that you would be unable to drive your car to get back and forth to work, to school if you are a college student, to the doctor’s office and picking up and dropping off your children at school. The loss of driving privileges may jeopardize your employment, and would definitely make your life a bit more challenging. In some cases, you can get a restricted driver’s license which would allow you to drive under the restrictions outlined by the court.
You will want to have the legal support of an experienced, Franklin DUI attorney who knows the law, and who will protect your rights as you challenge the suspension of your license and get your driving privileges restored even if it is on a restricted basis.
Obtaining a restricted license after a DUI in Tennessee
If you were convicted of a first time DUI offense, it may be possible for you to obtain a restricted license if there was no serious bodily injury or death involved with your offense. The penalty is a one year license suspension, and the granting of a restricted license before the year has been served is at the discretion of the court. You would have to petition the court that convicted you, or one in the county where you live, to request a certified order permitting you to drive to and from:
- Your regular place of employment
- Certified alcohol DUI education program
- School if you are enrolled full time in college or university
- Ignition interlock monitoring appointments
Requirements to obtain a restricted license:
- You would have to obtain a SR-22 from a car insurance company, and have the documentation that the policy is current and in effect
- Pass the test to obtain a driver’s license
- Pay the $67 fee for a class “D” license
You may not receive a restricted driver’s license if the following applies
If you have been previously convicted of:
- DUI-child endangerment
- Allowing an intoxicated person to drive
- Adult driving while impaired within the past 10 years
- Vehicular homicide intoxication proximate cause
- Aggravated vehicular homicide
- Vehicular assault
If this is your second DUI conviction, you may have a more difficult time obtaining a restricted license, and your request will not be considered until you have served the full first year of revocation.
If you have any outstanding unpaid court costs or fees, the court will not issue a restricted license until all of these costs and fees are paid regardless as to whether they are related to the DUI charge or not.
Ignition interlock device
Some drivers who have been convicted of DUI may be required to install an ignition interlock device, which is an electronic device that is attached to a car’s ignition. In order to operate the vehicle, the driver must blow into the device to prove that there is no alcohol in their system. There are fees associated with getting the device installed and with using it each month. Your DUI lawyer can help you decide if the option of having an interlock device makes sense in order to allow you a bit more freedom as to where you are allowed to drive.
Once your restricted license has been approved, you must be careful to keep all of the documentation in the vehicle at all times. If you get pulled over by a law enforcement officer, you must be able to show your restricted license, proof of insurance including the SR-22 and your vehicle’s current registration.
Your knowledgeable, Franklin DUI attorney can guide you through the entire process of requesting a restricted driver’s license after a DUI.
If your driver’s license has been suspended after a DUI in Tennessee, you may wonder if you will be able to apply for a restricted license so that you can work. A skilled Franklin DUI defense lawyer can help improve your chances of getting your driving privileges reinstated. The Law Offices of Adrian H. Altshuler & Associates has upheld the rights of people facing DUI charges since 1991. To make an appointment with an attorney at our Franklin, Columbia or Brentwood office, please use this contact form, or call 615-977-9370. We will come to you if you are being held in a local jail or holding facility.