So far 20 states and Washington, D.C. have legalized medical marijuana. Additionally, Colorado and Washington have legalized marijuana for recreational use. However, cannabis is still illegal in Tennessee and under federal law. This means that while the general attitude toward the substance has changed over the years, it is still against the law to possess, use, cultivate, sell or distribute pot.
If you or a loved one is arrested in Tennessee for a marijuana-related offense, remain silent and request to speak with a lawyer. With an attorney’s help you may be able to avoid penalties for the following:
- Possession — Possessing a half-ounce or less of marijuana in The Volunteer State is a misdemeanor offense punishable by up to one year in jail and $250 in fines if it is your first offense. Second-time offenders face a fine of $500, and third-time offenders are charged with a felony and face between one and six years in prison.
- Sale — If the police arrest you for selling between a half-ounce and 10 pounds of marijuana, you face $5,000 in fines and between one and six years in prison. In the event you are arrested for selling between 10 and 70 pounds of cannabis, you could be sentenced to between two and 12 years in prison.
- Cultivation — Cultivation of up to 10 marijuana plants is a felony in the state of Tennessee. If convicted, you could be sentenced to between one and six years in prison depending on the circumstances of your case. Further, you also face $5,000 in fines.
When it comes to offenses involving illegal drugs, penalties are based on the type of substance, the quantity of the substance and the criminal history of the defendant. While marijuana may not seem as harmful as other drugs, it is still illegal, and offenders face serious consequences. If you are arrested for any type of drug crime in TN, consult with an experienced drug defense lawyer today.