DUI / DWI License Suspensions in Franklin, Brentwood & Columbia
How a DUI/DWI in Spring Hill, Murfreesboro, Lawrenceburg and Pulaski, Tennessee impacts your driver’s license
Tennessee residents and out-of-state motorists who receive DWI convictions can expect to lose their driver’s licenses for a period of time. Under certain circumstances, a judge may allow the state to issue a restricted license so the offender can continue to earn a living or pursue an education. The Law Offices of Adrian H. Altshuler & Associates has represented drivers in DWI cases and in procedures to have their licenses reinstated for more than 20 years. Of course, the best way to prevent a DUI from impacting your driving privileges is to mount an aggressive defense. If you’ve been charged with DWI in middle Tennessee, contact Altshuler & Associates immediately.
License revocation due to Tennessee’s implied consent law
Like many other states, Tennessee has an implied consent law, which requires drivers on public roads to submit to a Breathalyzer test when pulled over on reasonable suspicion. Refusal to submit to a blood alcohol screening results in an automatic license revocation:
- First offense – 1 year
- Second offense – 2 years
- After a crash resulting in bodily injury – 2 years
- After a crash resulting in death – 5 years
License revocation for DUI conviction
In addition to fines, jail time and court costs, a DUI conviction results in the revocation of the driver’s license. A judge may place other restrictions on your license once the restriction is lifted, such as the requirement to install an ignition interlock device. Nevertheless, in some circumstances, the judge may allow you to drive on a restricted license for the limited purpose of going to work or school.
- First-time DUI – License revocation for 1 year, restricted license available, but judge may order a vehicle ignition interlock device at a minimum first-year cost of $810
- Second-time DUI – License revocation for 2 years, restricted license available after one year, and judge will order a vehicle ignition interlock device for at least six months at your expense
- Third-time DUI – License revocation for 3 to 10 years, restricted license is NOT available, and judge may order a vehicle ignition interlock device installed once your driving privileges are restored. If you’ve had two DUI convictions in 5 years, the law requires a vehicle ignition interlock device for 6 months after reinstatement.
- Fourth and subsequent DUI – License revocation for 5 years, restricted license is NOT available, and judge may order a vehicle ignition interlock device installed once your driving privileges are restored. If you’ve had two DUI convictions in 5 years, the law requires a vehicle ignition interlock device for 6 months after reinstatement.
- Vehicular assault (serious injury to another person by a DUI driver) – License revocation from one to five years
- Child endangerment (DUI with passenger under 13 years old) – License revocation indefinite
- Vehicular homicide – License revocation for three to 10 years, restricted license NOT available
Of course, some of these charges are so serious that losing your license will be the least of your worries. If you face DUI/DWI charges anywhere in Williamson county and central, Tennessee, The Law Offices of Adrian H. Altshuler & Associates can provide the aggressive and compelling defense necessary to preserve your liberty.
Contact a DWI license suspension attorney
DUI/DWI defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Altshuler & Associates serve motorists throughout central Tennessee. If you have been charged with DUI and fear having your license revoked, we can help. Call us today at (615) 412-1121 or use our convenient online form to schedule your free initial consultation.