Aug 25, 2016

What to Tell Your Kids about Dealing with Law Enforcement

By |Aug 25, 2016|Criminal Defense Law|0 Comments

If you are the parent of teens and preteens, you know that as they grow older and more independent there will be times when they will encounter law enforcement when you are not with them. Have you had a conversation with your kids about what to say and how to conduct themselves during interactions with [...]

Aug 11, 2016

Can I Be Arrested for a DUI after Passing the Field Sobriety Test?

By |Aug 11, 2016|Criminal Defense Law|0 Comments

You are driving along I-65 late on a Friday evening. You might have had a beer or two while you watched the game, but you are by no means drunk, or so you believe. The next thing you know, you see those flashing blue lights and hear the chirp of a police cruiser pulling you [...]

Jul 28, 2016

What is the Process for Getting a Restricted License after a DUI in Tennessee?

By |Jul 28, 2016|Criminal Defense Law, DUI|0 Comments

If you have been convicted of DUI in Tennessee, one of the penalties is that you can lose your driving privileges for one year. That means that you would be unable to drive your car to get back and forth to work, to school if you are a college student, to the doctor's office and [...]

Jul 21, 2016

What are the Consequences of a Domestic Violence Conviction in Tennessee?

By |Jul 21, 2016|Criminal Defense Law|0 Comments

Domestic violence is a serious issue in Tennessee with significant consequences. According to the National Coalition Against Domestic Violence (NCADV), 43 Tennesseans were murdered by intimate partners in 2014. Firearms were involved in 75 percent of these homicides. Tennessee law enforcement received 74,023 reports of domestic violence crimes, but many also went unreported. There were [...]

Jun 22, 2016

Frequently Asked Questions about DUIs in Tennessee

By |Jun 22, 2016|DUI|0 Comments

There have been a lot of changes (and proposed changes) to the DUI laws in Tennessee in the last year. Because of that, people who have been charged with a DUI have been asking us a lot of questions lately about the laws, the penalties and the fines. That is why we collected a list [...]

Jun 8, 2016

College Students Beware: You Future Could Be on the Line if You Are Charged with a Crime, Let Alone Convicted of One

By |Jun 8, 2016|Criminal Defense Law|0 Comments

Tennessee has a lot of colleges, trade schools and universities. That means we have a lot of college “kids” running around the state at any given time of the year. Now, we say “kids” because most of these students are at least 18 years of age, which makes them adults in the eyes of the [...]

Jun 2, 2016

Bonnaroo is Almost Here, and Coffee County is Cracking Down on Citations

By |Jun 2, 2016|Criminal Defense Law|0 Comments

The 15th Annual Bonnaroo music festival is a mere days away. Last year’s festival saw more than 80,000 attendees on the 700-acre farm in Manchester, Tennessee, and we can expect at least that many this year, as Bonnaroo continues to expand. You might see a few changes this year, too – like permanent bathrooms, a [...]

May 25, 2016

When is it OK for a Police Officer to Search Me?

By |May 25, 2016|Criminal Defense Law|0 Comments

Most people understand that the 4th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution protects us from having to submit to unreasonable search and seizure, but there is considerable confusion about the details. A police officer can stop you and ask you questions, but he or she is not permitted to search you unless they have probable cause [...]

May 18, 2016

Tips for Avoiding a DUI at Bonnaroo

By |May 18, 2016|DUI|0 Comments

Before long the 2016 Bonnaroo season will be in full swing here in Tennessee. From June 9th through the 12th, Manchester, TN will bloom into a small city with thousands of visitors who will be our guests for the four day music festival-palooza. We are going to be honest and let you know that you [...]

Apr 27, 2016

Tennessee Makes Progress to Strengthen Mandatory Ignition Interlocks and Improve DUI Conviction Reporting

By |Apr 27, 2016|DUI|0 Comments

Tennessee is making great strides towards strengthening the punishment for DUI offenders. A bill that would require an ignition interlock device for 120 for second-time DUI offenders has passed the Tennessee House of Representatives. The bill would also require that DUI arrest and conviction records be shared with every Tennessee court and judge immediately. The [...]